(Re)Treat Yourself!

As the lazy days of summer come to an end, and things seem to get busier and busier, we all need a place to retreat to at the end of the day; a sanctuary where we can relax, de-stress and treat ourselves to some creature comforts. Here are a few simple ideas for creating your own at-home refuge.

If you have limited space a comfy chair, reading lamp and ottoman should do the trick. Add a soft, warm throw and a few pillows to up the cozy factor. For more privacy add a floating bookshelf or even a single curtain panel hung from the ceiling.

At-home retreat | Chicago ReDesignTassle pillow| Orange Pillow | Throw | Bookcase | Chair | Side table | Lamp | Ottoman

For a luxurious retreat mix opulent materials, interesting textures, plush fabrics, and plenty of shine. An interesting basket keeps reading materials close at hand while a laptop table provides a convenient spot to perch a glass of wine or warm mug of tea.

At-home retreat | Chicago ReDesignHandled basket | Side table | Chaise | Pillow | Throw | Lamp

If your idea of bliss is curling up with a good book while soaking up the sunshine, add a daybed underneath a window. Keep the feeling light and airy with sheers, plenty of white, and pops of bright, cheerful color.

At-home retreat | Chicago ReDesignDaybed | Pink Pillow | Petal Pillow | Side table | Curtains

Do you have a favorite spot in your home to retreat to at the end of the day? I’d love to hear all about it in the comments section below!

Signature

Related Posts:

share request

6 thoughts on “(Re)Treat Yourself!

  1. essenziale-hd

    Taryn, wonderful sample boards! My favourite place for relaxing after a long day is my balcony (it is still almost 35 degrees every day here so it is really pleasant to get some chill in the evenings!). I have already a couple of chairs there and a coffee table there, but didn’t decorate it so far. I really like the last scheme you made and I think I can pull some colours/ideas for decorating it. Thank you! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Chicago ReDesign Post author

      Thank you Anna! So glad you were able to find some inspiration in my post 🙂 I love my outside balcony too but I’m such a wimp when it comes to cold weather that it really only gets much use in the summer.

      Reply
    1. Chicago ReDesign Post author

      Absolutely!! That wingchair has been an obsession of mine since I got the catalog a few months back. I’m also loving the new finishes on some of the old favorites (like the expedit bookshelves). I’ve been itching to make a trip there myself. Thanks for reading and commenting Julie!! 🙂

      Reply
  2. birgitte vosper

    Hi Taryn, great post. great moodboards. I am a huge Ikea fan, and I do agree Julie. They must have hired new designers as the items are much more up to date now. Great value as well. I am loving the wing chair – it’s very Mad Men and teamed with the walnut-wooden tables – it’s a sure Winner (if you ask me)

    Reply
    1. Chicago ReDesign Post author

      Thank you Birgitte! Long time no talk – hope all is well with you 🙂 And I too love the idea of mixing the gray wing chair with warm brown tone woods like walnut. Such a versatile and sophisticated look!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

