Color Inspiration: Gustav Klimt’s ‘Golden Phase’

I absolutely love the artwork of Gustav Klimt, so this week I was inspired to put together a mood board based on work produced during his ‘Golden Phase’. As I’m sure you can glean from the title, gold is featured heavily in the palette of these pieces (Klimt often used actual gold leaf in the work and it’s truly spectacular when viewed in real life) but with an ample dose of color. Rich blues, bright reds and oranges, deep greens, and even art-deco-ish blocks of black compliment the metallic gold “star” in these paintings.

Color Inspiration: Gustav Klimt's 'Golden Phase' | Chicago ReDesign

Gustav Klimt, ‘The Kiss’

Color Inspiration: Gustav Klimt's 'Golden Phase' | Chicago ReDesign

Gustav Klimt, ‘Adele Bloch-Bauer I’

My mood board…

Color Inspiration: Gustav Klimt's 'Golden Phase' | Chicago ReDesign

Lamp | Lampshade | Sculpture | Leaves | Wallpaper | Side Table | Rug | Couch | Purple Lumbar Pillow | Gold Flame Pillow | Black + White Pillow

Let me know what you think. Do you like the gold + color palette? Also, what inspires you? If you have any mood boards you would like to share send them my way – I love to see what others have created!

Signature

Related Posts:

share request

8 thoughts on “Color Inspiration: Gustav Klimt’s ‘Golden Phase’

  1. essenziale-hd

    I totally love Gustav Klimt’s works as well – he is one of my favourite artists! I like the combination of gold and teal colour on your mood board. Lovely scheme!

    Reply
    1. Chicago ReDesign Post author

      Thanks Anna! I got to see several of his pieces at a rotating museum exhibit in Washington DC once and they were truly amazing. The gold leaf is so vibrant and beautiful in real life!

      Reply
  2. birgitte vosper

    great mood board. I am not too keen on orange and gold together but with the teal in the mix – it looks really inviting. I am in love with the sofa. Style and colour. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    1. Chicago ReDesign Post author

      Thanks Birgitte! You know, I normally would never go for the gold and bright orange together, but it’s so prominent and vivid in Klimt’s work that I thought it worked in this case. Plus I think the dose of teal and black help tone it done a bit. Thanks for reading!! 🙂

      Reply
  3. birgitte vosper

    Totally agree. It’s the teal that makes the board – it actually works better than the green Klimt used in the painting. 🙂 Keep posting – they are always worth reading. Cheers, Birgitte

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Gustav Klimt | David Benrimon

  5. Pingback: Color Inspiration: 3 Hot Color Combos | Chicago ReDesign

  6. Pingback: {Guest Post} Why You Should Change Your Window Coverings (and How) | Chicago ReDesign

Leave a Reply

